Monday, January 11, 2010

ASC Nominees.

Barry Ackroyd, BSC for "The Hurt Locker"
Dion Beebe, ASC, ACS for "Nine"
Christian Berger, AAC for "The White Ribbon"
Mauro Fiore, ASC for "Avatar"
Robert Richardson, ASC for "Inglourious Basterds"

Finally a guild set of nominees that doesn't make me want to kick someone. It's a shame that these people keep on ignoring "Bright Star"-especially in this category where it excelled like no other movie this year-but to see "The White Ribbon" included is a true delight.
Let's remember the ASC gave its top award to Bruno Delbonnel a few years ago for "A Very Long Engagement", while Oscar went to Robert Richardson for "The Aviator".
They might want to give Richardson their award this year for his incredible work in Quentin Tarantino's WWII fantasy.
But still no "Bright Star" marks a truly sad note for this guild. Let's hope Oscar makes this right.

No comments: