Monday, January 5, 2009

Oh Yeah...

...the Producers Guild of America announced their nominations for the year 2008.
The nominees are the ones everyone expected and that is precisely the problem: they are just so incredibly dull.
If this is the same list we're gonna get for the Oscars go ahead and count me out as I've been officially underwhelmed and definitely disappointed.
Now all we have to do is sit and wait to see if the DGA have mercy on us and shake things up a bit.
Last year we were also seeing the same nominees in practically all the races, but somehow everything was a bit more exciting even as "No Country for Old Men" swept it all. Can it have something to do with the quality of the motion pictures in consideration perh

The Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures
"The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button," Kathleen Kennedy & Frank Marshall, Ceán Chaffin
"The Dark Knight," Christopher Nolan, Charles Roven, Emma Thomas
"Frost/Nixon,"Brian Grazer, Ron Howard, Eric Fellner
"Milk," Dan Jinks & Bruce Cohen
"Slumdog Millionaire," Christian Colson

The Producers Guild of America Producer of the Year Award in Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures
"Man On Wire," Simon Chinn
"Standard Operating Procedure," Julie Bilson Ahlberg, Errol Morris
"Trouble The Water," Carl Deal, Tia Lessin

The Producers Guild of America Producer of the Year Award in Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures
"Bolt," Clark Spencer
"Kung Fu Panda," Melissa Cobb
"Wall-E," Jim Morris

Oh and hoorray for "Wall-E" once more, it'd have been nice to see the small guy in the big category though...

No comments: